Love (& Marriage) Sure is Sweet!

13 Feb

Love is in the air (in case you didn’t know, tomorrow is Valentine’s Day – perhaps you didn’t notice the pink, red and white colors flooding every store OR that your favorite TV Show’s episode this week is celebrating the date OR maybe you just haven’t got online).

Saint Valentine’s Day (or Valentine’s Day) began as a Christian holiday; celebrating the early Christian saint named Valentinus. It began as a day associated with romance, evolved into a day where lovers could express their feelings to each other, to where it is today – a day for celebrating love (whether romantic or not) and friendship.

One of my favorite parts of Valentine’s Day is the cards – they are amazing and put my thoughts on paper so perfectly. I could literally spend hours in the card section of the store – let’s be honest though, I can spend hours in the card section no matter what time of year it is – trying to find the perfect cards for my friends and family.

For many, Valentine’s Day means more that just cards: it means flowers, candy, dinner and more. Did you know:

  • 180 million cards are exchanged annually
  • 196 million roses are produced just for the day
  • More than 36 million heart-shaped boxes of chocolate will be sold

*Check out this fun infographic for more stats on Valentine’s Day 2013.

For me, Valentine’s Day is also a reminder of how my life changed (for the best) a few years ago. It was one of the biggest turning points in my life and, though at the time I couldn’t see through the fog, was one of the best things that ever could have happened. I won’t bore you with all the in-between details but because of it, I am married to the most amazing man and more in love than I ever thought was possible.

This will be our first Valentine’s Day being married and I’m excited that we get to celebrate our love. Marriage is so much more than just love though – It has its up, it has its downs and everything in between. I’m not a relationship expert but here’s our little recipe for a happy marriage:

natalieBrandonPoster

– NNN

